Former PS3 Player

Gaxe
    Obsessed
    Obsessed

Former PS3 Player

Post by Gaxe on Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:10 pm

So, I use to be a die hard Dark Souls player but awhile back I just quit out of nowhere. Reason being is because I honestly didn't have any reason to stay on PS3 and things went down IRL. Soon I'm buying a gaming pc though.

I heard many bad things about Dark Souls for PC, Hackers/Bad Port/whatever. Is it worth buying Dark Souls for PC, it is currently on sale on steam until July 22nd (correct me if I'm wrong), for $15. I miss Dark Souls severely, but here's the thing I started playing Dark Souls because of the game and stayed for the community. Is the community any good on PC? Can I make friends to hang with, do some pvp matches, get help with builds, ect?

Thanks for reading all big grin

To those who are wondering here will be my PC specs

Case: NZXT Phantom 410 (Black/Orange)
    CPU: i5-4670k
    CPU Cooler: Hyper 212 Evo
    MOBO: Asus Z87-A
    PSU: Corsair TX750
    SSD: Adata XPG SX900 (120GB)
    GPU: EVGA GTX 760 SC
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
    Laharls_Wrath
    Addicted
    Addicted

Re: Former PS3 Player

Post by Laharls_Wrath on Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:47 pm

I've only ~250 hours logged thusfar and have only played on the pc but if you've a pc capable of it then in my opinion it's a resounding 'yes'
    I can't speak for hackers being more or less common, however you can set dsfix (a mod that deals with many of the 'bad port' issues) to automatically back up your save as frequently as every 10-15 minutes so if you do encounter a malicious hacker (and have stats drained or some other issue) you lose negligible time restoring things
    PvP wise, I've 3 characters around SL100 and the township is pretty much always active, forest and burg seem to be very active at certain times and less so at others
    DSCfix also makes connecting with gfwl friends easier which is a big plus if you have a group of people to play with