Souls Series Wiki Forums

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

+4
Sentiel
Dante_000
LunarFog
NinesVoerman
8 posters

Upgrading vs Leveling

NinesVoerman

Upgrading vs Leveling Empty Upgrading vs Leveling

Post by NinesVoerman Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:00 am

I'm fairly new to Dark Souls but it kinda feels like leveling up is rather pointless when compared to upgrading my equipment. I'm Level 28 currently and it costs 7k souls to level up my endurance and it raises the defense stats by 2. However, if I buy titanite shards from Andrei for 800 souls each and then upgrade my armour it raises the defense stats by 2. Maybe it's because I'm such a low level but correct me if I'm wrong, but is upgrading equipment more efficient than leveling?
    LunarFog
    LunarFog
    Hollowed
    Hollowed

Upgrading vs Leveling Empty Re: Upgrading vs Leveling

Post by LunarFog Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:17 am

In some regards. You can upgrade your armor for 200 souls+ 800 for the titanite shards you need to buy. But after a couple levels you'll need to buy 2 titanite shards which would be 1600 souls.

Then you'd need Large titanite shards to upgrade which are 4000 each. To upgrade a level 6 armor to level 7 I believe you need 3, which would run you 12k. And upgrading armor only raises your defense stat.

If you upgrade your stats then you get defense, plus other stats which are needed to use better weapons with stat limits and heavier armor.

Need both bro
    Dante_000
    Dante_000
    Addicted
    Addicted

Post by Dante_000 Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:22 am

In the situation given I would spend the souls on endurance as it contributes to more than just defence, It also increase equip burden and Stamina, Which means you can equip more and still roll fast, and the increased stamina means you can attack/dodge/block more.
    Sentiel
    Sentiel
    Compulsory Poster
    Compulsory Poster

Post by Sentiel Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:22 am