Getting Paladin gear at low levels?

WhtieCopain

Getting Paladin gear at low levels?

Post by WhtieCopain on Fri Sep 28, 2012 2:41 pm

So I'm pretty new to the game, haven't beat it on my main yet even, but I'm creating another character that I can help low level players with as a Faith/Dex Miracle build The idea is to roll Cleric and get to ~22 so I can use Sunlight spear and have the Astora's Straight sword for a weapon.

I asked what armor would be good for this and someone suggested the Paladin armor and said it was possible to get while remaining low, a quick browse through the wiki is saying that it's a high level area below the catacombs, is there any actual way for me to get there and get the armor or was I just being trolled?
    Siegfried.
    Addicted
    Addicted

Re: Getting Paladin gear at low levels?

Post by Siegfried. on Fri Sep 28, 2012 2:53 pm

It's technically possible to get it at a low level -- you just have to hold off on the levels ups in general. That said, you can get it shortly after the half way point of the game. Many of us have completed the game without levelling up, but if you haven't completed the game yet and don't know about dealing with the Catacombs and Tomb of the Giants, then you might be hard pressed to acquire the armour.

To get it, you have to be towards the end of the Tomb of the Giants in human form. You'll exit the darkness and come into a well-lit path with a sheer drop on the left. As you go along, there'll be a tunnel to the right and a dead end to the path straight ahead. You have to go up towards that dead end until an NPC Black Phantom is summoned, who you then have to fight. Defeat them and then continue along until you complete the boss. The armour should be somewhere in the boss arena; if not, quit the game and reload and it will appear somewhere around the edges.

Also, the Knight class is probably better for dex/faith than Cleric.

WhtieCopain

Post by WhtieCopain on Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:01 pm